Skip to main content

Brampford Speke Parish Council has seven serving members and employs one part time Parish Clerk. The Parish Council is within the East Devon District.

Council Meetings are held on the first Wednesday of the month bimonthly, except in August and December. Meetings are usually held in the Village Hall at 7.30pm but during the recent pandemic the Parish Council has been meeting virtually.

The current councillors are:

Councillor Name Register of Interests
Cllr Stuart Luxton (Vice Chairman) Cllr Luxton Register of Interests 
Cllr Alan Birmingham (Chairman) Cllr Birmingham Register of Interests
Cllr Richard Tillett Cllr Tillett Register of Interests
Cllr Elaine Hollingsworth Cllr Hollingsworth Register of Interests
Cllr Will Honan Cllr Honan Register of Interests
Cllr Nichola Vickers Cllr Nichola Vickers Register of Interests
Cllr William Gallois Cllr William Gallois Register of Interests


The Parish Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer is Carole Oliphant who holds the Certificate in Local Council Administration (CiLCA).

Lead Councillor Roles for 2021-2022

The lead councillor roles were agreed as:

Role  Councillor Responsible
Brampford Speke Village Hall Trust: Cllrs Tillett & Honan
Verges: Cllr S Luxton
Trees & Natural Environment: Cllr Hollingsworth
Highways & Traffic Management: Cllr Tillett
Footpaths: Cllr Gallois
Planning: Cllr Honan
Communications: Cllr Vickers
Finance: Cllr Birmingham
Community Grant Fund: (All Councillors)

Outside Bodies Representatives 2021-2022

Outside Body Councillor Representatives
Community Land Trust Cllr Tillett
Raddon Hills Cllrs Birmingham & Tillett

Elections and Vacancies

The Council is elected every four years and the next ordinary election is May 2023.

If any of the Councillors resign from the Council during their term of office the Parish Council will co-opt to fill the vacancy. You can find details of our current vacancies on our news page.

General Power of Competence

Brampford Speke Parish Council adopted the General Power of Competence in May 2019:

Local Councils in England were given a General Power of Competence in the Localism Act 2011, Sections 1-8. This means that Councils, once adopting the power, no longer need to ask whether they have a specific power to act.   The Localism Act 2011 s1 (1) gives local authorities including town and parish councils “the power to do anything that individuals generally may do as long as they do not break any other laws”. It is a power of first resort.

Restrictions in law which apply to the use of the General Power of Competence include the duties on councils to act to prevent crime and disorder; to respect human rights; to consider biodiversity; and to protect personal data. Sometimes a council can do things that an individual can’t do such as creating byelaws, raising a precept or issuing fixed penalty notices but it must do so using the specific original legislation. The General Power of Competence does not mean the Council can delegate decisions to individual councillors. This procedural matter remains enshrined in law.

Brampford Speke Parish Council adopted the General Power of Competence at its meeting on 15th May 2019. This power remains with the Parish Council until the Annual Meeting following the next ordinary election (i.e. May 2023); it can then be readopted at that Annual Meeting if the Council is still eligible.

In order to be eligible for the General Power of Competence there are two criteria that must be fulfilled:

At the time when the General Power of Competence is adopted, at least two-thirds of the total seats on the council must be held by members who stood at the last ordinary election or subsequent by-election, i.e. council members who have been elected (even if unopposed) rather than co-opted or appointed.

The Clerk must hold the Certificate in Local Council Administration or an equivalent qualification.